Little Ten Conference Boys Basketball Tournament History

1950 Tournament
In the Works
Thank You
Quotes and Comments
Post Season Glory
Special Players
Special Teams
Special Coaches
Past Champions
1920-1925 Tournaments
1926 Tournament
1927 Tournament
1928 Tournament
1929 Tournament
1930 Tournament
1931 Tournament
1932 Tournament
1933 Tournament
1934 Tournament
1935 Tournament
1936 Tournament
1937 Tournament
1938 Tournament
1939 Tournament
1940 Tournament
1941 Tournament
1942 Tournament
1943 Tournament
1944 Tournament
1945 Tournament
1946 Tournament
1947 Tournament
1948 Tournament
1949 Tournament
1950 Tournament
1951 Tournament
1952 Tournament
1953 Tournament
1954 Tournament
1955 Tournament
1956 Tournament
1957 Tournament
1958 Tournament
1959 Tournament
1960 Tournament
1961 Tournament
1962 Tournament
1963 Tournament
1964 Tournament
1965 Tournament
1966 Tournament
1967 Tournament
1968 Tournament
1969 Tournament
1970 Tournament
1971 Tournament
1972 Tournament
1973 Tournament
1974 Tournament
1975 Tournament
1976 Tournament
1977 Tournament
1978 Tournament
1979 Tournament
1980 Tournament
1981 Tournament
1982 Tournament
1983 Tournament
1984 Tournament
1985 Tournament
1986 Tournament
1987 Tournament
1988 Tournament
1989 Tournament
1990 Tournament
1991 Tournament
1992 Tournament
1993 Tournament
1994 Tournament
1995 Tournament
1996 Tournament
1997 Tournament
1998 Tournament
1999 Tournament
2000 Tournament
2001 Tournament
2002 Tournament
2003 Tournament
2004 Tournament
2005 Tournament
2006 Tournament
2007 Tournament
2008 Tournament
2009 Tournament
2010 Tournament
2011 Tournament
2012 Tournament
2013 Tournament
Advertising Size Examples

Serena Tops Leland for Title

Sandwich Earns Third Place

Serena Huskers 1950 LTC Tournament Champs

Serena 61, Shabbona 47

Leland 39, Earlville 36

Sandwich 54, Somonauk 50

Plano 37, Waterman 33

Serena 42, Paw Paw 36

Leland 43, Rollo 41

Sandwich 47, Hinckley 31


Serena 65, Plano 28

Leland 49, Sandwich 45


Sandwich 53, Plano 50


Serena 56, Leland 41

Title Game Box Score


Key: fg-ft-tp


LELAND (41) - Gunderson 1-0-2, Buckhardt 2-1-5, Kittleson 1-0-2, Hoadley 1-5-7, Baker 0-0-0, Gord 6-2-14, Sanderson 2-1-5, Loux 0-1-1, Burns 0-5-5, Herrick 0-0-0.  Totals 13-15-41


SERENA (56) - Wilkinson 4-4-12, Miller 2-0-4, Frisch 3-0-6, Hougsted 0-0-0, Marshall 2-1-5, Selvig 0-1-1, D. Bastian 7-5-19, Elke 2-3-7, B. Bastian 0-1-1, Jardine 0-1-1.  Totals 20-16-56


Leland       5     6     11    19 - 41

Serena     17   15    13    11 - 56


Total fouls - Leland 26, Serena 18.  Fouled out - Buckhardt, Sanderson, Marshall.


Final 1950 Little Ten Conference Standings
                                       W    L
Serena              10    0
Hinckley             8    2
Shabbona             6    4
Leland               6    4
Sandwich             6    4
Rollo                5    5
Earlville            5    5
Paw Paw              4    6
Somonauk             2    8
Plano                2    8
Waterman             1    9

Rollo Wins District Title in 1950


The Eagles entered the Leland District Tournament and were rated last of the eight teams.  Rollo had defeated Earlville and Paw Paw in the regular season and probably should have been rated ahead of them. Their head coach was Carson DeJarnatt, who went on to be a Hall of Fame wrestling coach at Sterling High School. 


Rollo had finished the previous season under DeJarnatt with just three wins in 23 games, but was 13-9 starting post season play and had finished 5-5 in Little Ten Conference play.  There were ten boys in the school in 1950 and nine actually played basketball, but one was injured at tournament time and two of the remaining eight were freshman and didn’t play much.  It was left up to five seniors and one junior to lead the team.


In their opening game they were pitted against LTC foe and neighbor to the south Earlville High School.  Rollo led at halftime 24-22 and then outscored the Red Raiders 16-7 in the third quarter to own a 40-29 advantage.  Earlville cut the lead to seven (40-33) early in the fourth period, but Rollo was able to grab back the momentum and earn a 49-38 victory.  Dan Todd led the Eagles with 15 points, Alvin Benson chipped in 12.  In the second game of the night, Paw Paw upset second-seed Seneca 39-35 to move on to play Rollo in the semifinals.


In their contest against Paw Paw, Rollo held a 11-7 lead after one quarter, but the Bulldogs eventually tied the game at 19-all by halftime.  Phil Buland (12 points), Rollo’s center, controlled the lane in the third frame as the Eagles were in front by six points in the final seconds of the third period before Benson nailed a one-handed shot from half court as the gun sounded to bring the Rollo fans to their feet.  The Eagles extended their advantage to 41-29 in the initial minutes of the final quarter and held on for a 48-38 win to move them into the title game against defending district tournament champ Minooka.  Don Landers backed Buland with 10 points, Todd had eight.


Leland, who had upset LTC regular season and tournament champion Serena in the quarterfinals, fell to the much taller Minooka club in the semifinals.  The Panthers never led, but hung with the Indians the entire game.


Top-seed Minooka used their clear height advantage over Rollo to grab a 26-21 lead at intermission and were still ahead 34-28 entering the final quarter.  The Eagles’ Robert Catron opened the fourth with a basket from short range, then Wayne Goldsberry hit one from long distance and Buland followed with a lay up to tie the score.  Goldsberry’s basket then gave the underdogs the lead and the Rollo crowd exploded.  The Eagles continued to hit baskets from all over the court and totally out-played the Indians in the final minutes; in fact Rollo out-pointed Minooka 19-1 in the final eight minutes and scored 24 of the last 25 points in the game to capture the improbable championship with a 47-35 triumph and a trip to the Ottawa Regional. 


Buland led Rollo with 15 points, Catron added nine and Goldsberry and Todd eight each. 


One side note to the game was that Minooka’s sophomore point-guard was Al Stegman.  Stegman, a Illinois Basketball Coaches Association Hall of Famer, was a longtime coach at Harding Grade School and Serena High School.  He also was Serena’s athletic director for many years and the LTC secretary for over a decade.


The day of Rollo’s regional opener against Marseilles a tremendous blizzard hit the area.  Many fans thought the game would be cancelled because of the bad weather.  The officials from Kankakee couldn’t get to the game, but tournament officials hastily arranged for local Ottawa officials to do the game. The Eagles made the long treacherous trip to Ottawa and had a 47-46 lead in the final moments of the game.  However Panther center Mike Trad converted a pair of free throws in the last seconds to end Rollo’s Cinderella season with a 49-47 loss.  It was a rough game for one of the officials as well as referee Eddie Chlaus fell and broke a bone in his arm, but continued to call the game.  


Rollo finished the season with a 16-9 record and of the 47 district tournament champions’ state wide, was probably the smallest and most surprising winners.

Rollo Eagles 1950 District Champs